National NSA/DHS Centers of Academic Excellence in Information Assurance/Cyber Defense

One of the knowledge units is called:

Policy, Legal, Ethics and Compliance

The purpose is to ensure that students understand “information assurance in context and the rules and guidelines that control them.”

The topics are:


 Computer Security Act

 Sarbanes – Oxley

 Gramm – Leach – Bliley

 Privacy (COPPA)

 Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS)

 State, US and international standards / jurisdictions

 Laws and Authorities

 US Patriot Act

 BYOD issues

 Americans with Disabilities Act, Section 508

The intended outcomes are:

 Students shall be able to list the applicable laws and policies related to cyber defense and describe the major components of each pertaining to the storage and transmission of data.

 Students shall be able to describe their responsibilities related to
the handling of information about vulnerabilities.

 Students will be able to describe how the type of legal dispute
(civil, criminal, private) affects the evidence used to resolve it.


Please Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: